top of page

What are the planets in astrology? A guide to the galactic cosmos and what they mean in the zodiac

Updated: Sep 23, 2023

Since the dawn of time, people have tracked the motion of the Sun, the Moon, and any other planets visible to the unaided eye in our solar system. Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, and Saturn were among them. In the modern era, humans have discovered that there are additional outer planets, including Pluto, Neptune, and Uranus. (In astrology, Pluto is still considered a planet. Avoid being a hater).

There are two astronomical objects in each of the zodiac signs' celestial belt wards, which each have a planet-ruler as well.

The Sun - Leo

In astrology, the Sun, who creates life, stands in for our conscious mind. It stands for our desire to live and our vitality. We receive our life purpose from the Sun in our natal charts, much as the planets in our solar system do.

With their kind hearts and outgoing personalities, persons with the Sun in Leo are initially difficult to dislike. They frequently enter a room as a radiant presence that commands attention, and they are adept at "working" a crowd for optimal results.

The Moon - Cancer

In astrology, Cancer is ruled by the Moon. The Moon stands for our unconscious, our ingrained behaviours, and our most fundamental wants. 

Cancer is the fourth sign in the zodiac and is a water sign making them sensitive, emotional, peaceful, devoted, yet fixed people who love their homes and families.

Mercury - Gemini, Virgo

As in mythology, Gemini and Virgo are ruled by the gods' emissary Mercury. It is the planet of regular communication and expression. Mercury's influence involves disassembling things and reassembling them.

The third sign of the zodiac is Gemini and they are known to be quite gregarious and talkative enjoying to engage with other people.

Virgo the sixth zodiac sign is feminine, ladylike, graceful perfectionist, and duty-bound, much like its symbolism

Venus - Taurus, Libra

The Goddess of Love is Venus. Venus is the joint ruler of Libra and Taurus in astrology. Venus thus stands for the two essential aspects of our lives—love and money. Venus is the planet that governs our emotions, our values, and our enjoyment of life.

Earth is the element for Taurus, the second sign of the zodiac. It is tenacious, steadfast, stable, and useful. Although Taurus is ruled by Venus, it also has a strong preference for sensual pleasures. 

The emblem of the Balancing Scales designates Libra, the seventh sign of the zodiac. 'Balance' is the keyword here, as should be obvious. A person born under the sign of Libra also has two sides to their personality and way of thinking because a pair of scales always has two aspects, or sides.

Mars - Aries

Aries is ruled by Mars, the God of War. Mars is the astrological symbol for vigour, initiative, desire, and physical energy., and passion. It is the human species' "leftover" animal instinct and is known as the survival instinct.

Aries is the first Sign of the Zodiac. In a same vein, those born under this Sign see themselves as the pioneers. Aries people are renowned for their ardor and excitement. Their leadership abilities and optimism stand out the most.

Jupiter - Sagittarius

Sagittarius is ruled by Jupiter, the King of the Gods. Jupiter is a planet of abundance in astrology. It is accommodating and tolerant. Jupiter, the first sociable planet, seeks understanding through knowledge. Morality, gratitude, hope, honour, and the law are some of this planet's fundamental phrases.

The ninth sign of the zodiac is Sagittarius. Sagittarius people are fun-loving, enjoyable, truth-seekers, explorers, and travellers.

Saturn - Capricorn

Capricorn is ruled by Saturn. Cronus was the father of Zeus in Greek mythology and one of the Titans. In order to keep his position as King of the Gods, Cronus ate his offspring. Before Zeus was born, when his wife Rhea tricked him into swallowing a stone. Saturn is a planet that represents limitation and restriction in astrology.

Saturn is the ruler of Capricorn, the upwardly inclined, constantly moving Mountain Goat, stands in for the tenth Zodiac Sign. Capricorn is a sign that emphasises commitment to obligations and the professional side of life.

Neptune - Pisces

Pisces is ruled by Neptune, the God of the Sea. Neptune is regarded as the astrological symbol for inspiration, dreams, psychic sensitivity, confusion. Neptune is in charge of all things mystical and occult.

Since Pisces is the Zodiac's final and 12th Sign, it absorbs all the various characteristics of the 11 Signs that came before it. The happiest sign is Pisces because it has many of the traits under its belt. Pisces are highly focused on their inner quest for spiritual harmony and peace.

Pluto - Scorpio

Scorpio is ruled by Pluto, the Underworld God. The equivalent god in Greek mythology was Hades. The energies of Pluto are changing in astrology. Pluto rules all that is "below the surface" and is a symbol for subconscious powers.

Nothing about the Scorpio is soft-hearted. The eighth sign of the zodiac, the Scorpio, enjoys a good battle and may compete with "intensity" in terms of value. The Scorpions are, to put it simply, powerful, authoritative, ardent, passionate, and zealous.

Uranus - Aquarius

Aquarius is ruled by Uranus, the God of the Sky and the Heavens. The forces of Uranus are explosive and packed with revolution in astrology. Technology, invention, discovery, and all that is forward-thinking are connected to Uranus.

The 11th sign of the zodiac is Aquarius, who is practical, compassionate, and works to improve society. Because they are quick to include others in the process, people born under the sign of Aquarius have a lot of friends and contacts. While Aquarius enjoys change, it detests being bored. 

65 views0 comments


bottom of page