top of page

Happy Chinese New Year! Find out when the lunar new year is and what it means

Updated: Mar 29, 2023

In Chinese culture, people believe that what you do on the first day of any new year will affect your luck in the coming year.

To be safe and sound, why not stay up late on Chinese New Year’s eve (January 21st) and say something positive to your family and friends after the clock strikes 12?

Lunar New Year falls on the second new Moon after the winter solstice, so it can occur anytime between January 21 and February 20. Mark this time to celebrate with friends and family, exchange gifts, and feast on delicious New Year foods!

This year, the new Moon occurs in China on Sunday, January 22, marking the start of the Lunar New Year.

What is the zodiac animal for Chinese New Year this year?

We’re excited to ring in the Chinese New Year this year, which will be the Year of the Hare (also known as the Rabbit). The animal designations of the zodiac follow a 12-year cycle and are always used in the same sequence.

For those born in the Year of the Hare, each day is an oasis of calm serenity amid the daily hustle. In this environment, they are able to do their best creative work. The Hare is an intuitive and creative person, who looks for peace and quiet in their home.

What are the main characteristics of the Hare?

If you’re a Hare, your year is set to be fruitful. As the Hare symbolizes money, fertility and successful partnerships, this is due to be a lucky year for a lot of the animals in the zodiac.

Those born in the Year of the Hare are said to have many talents. Hares are talented and creative, but also gentle and kind. They are often generous and find it difficult to say no to those they love. Hares are popular with everyone.

How many different types of Hare are there?

The five-element theory is an ancient Chinese system of categorizing people based on their birth year in terms of the five elements: Metal, Water, Wood, Fire and Earth. Each of these elements has characteristics that are assigned to a certain animal (or a combination thereof) for each zodiac sign. Depending on what your birth year ends in, it will determine what Chinese element you are:

0, 1 - Metal

2, 3 - Water

4, 5 - Wood

6, 7 - Fire

8, 9 - Earth

There are 5 different types of Hares, which make each version unique in its own way. Since it’s true that the type of element determines one's fate and character, it's important for everyone to know their zodiac animal sign so they can make the most of their traits, good or bad.

Types of Hares


Metal Hare

Kind-hearted, emotional, sensitive, contrasting

Water Hare

Gentle, amicable, malleable, fragile

Wood Hare

Creative, clever, sociable, kind

Fire Hare

Feisty, sentimental, impetuous, nuturing

Earth Hare

Solid, grounded, humble, genuine

The Water Hare year hasn’t occurred since 1963, so 2023 will mark 60 years since the last Water Hares were born. Whether you’re balancing your daily to-do list or negotiating with a time-waster, you’ll find yourself with more patience, charisma and creativity than ever before.

The Water Hare has a natural ability to communicate their ideas in a way that is engaging and compassionate. This year is all about communication - from the boardroom to a first date, don’t underestimate the power of words.

If you want to learn more about what the year has in store for you, get your Cosmic Fusion App and stay up to date with what the cosmos has in store for you:

71 views0 comments


bottom of page